Uncategorized

7 Unique Saigon Cafes

I briefly mentioned here about Vietnamese coffee culture. One of things that I like about Vietnam is coffee shops. Now I have been in Saigon for sometime. I went to many coffee shops in 2020. In this post, I would like to share some of my favourites and unique coffee shops in Saigon.

Sound track for this blog

Chidori – Cafe for introverts

I found this place through instagram. It is kind of mix of Japanese internet cafe and capsule hotel. However this place is much modern, clean and cool. I like I can get my own little pod.

Address: 6 Đường Hoa Cau, Phường 7, Phú Nhuận, Hồ Chí Minh

Cafe Cheo Leo – Oldest coffee shop in Vietnam

Cafe Cheo Leo is indeed the oldest coffee shop in Vietnam (lording to Google). One time, they showed us how to brew the coffee. They brew coffee in old school way, using the coffee sock and in the pot.

109-36 Nguyễn Thiện Thuật, Phường 2, Quận 3, Hồ Chí Minh 70000

Café Ba Lù – Another old school coffee shop in the middle of Cho Lon(Chinatown)

193 Phùng Hưng, Phường 14, Quận 5, Hồ Chí Minh

It’s not as old as Cheo Leo, Vafe Ba Lu is a nice friendly old school coffee shop where has been here since 1953. The founder of the cafe migrated from Hainan, China. Name Ba Lu comes from that the owner is third child of his family (Ba means 3) and Lù is one of coffee equipments. It’s truly one of kind. If you are lucky you can see how they roast coffee outside. I personally really like their coffee.

Nhà Phạm – Inside of old apartment/ school building

You wouldn’t know where the cafe is. Because it’s hidden inside of old apartment building. I enjoyed the atmosphere than drink. Staff were nice and friendly. It seems popular among young Vietnamese. I like flan in coffee.

129 Đ. Đinh Tiên Hoàng, Phường 3, Bình Thạnh, Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh

Người Tám Chuyện House – Most exclusive cafe in Saigon

This cafe is located inside of local apartment which has been for 95 years. Thus booking is essential, go to their Facebook page for booking. They only take a few people on weekdays, not weekend, well for now (Dec 2020). What makes this place so unique is the view from the cafe. You have perfect view of Notre Dame Cathedral of Saigon. Due to the location, you will be asked not to take any photos in the apartment and way to the coffee shop, when you book. The building has the oldest working lift in Saigon too.

The coffee ship – Just unique cafe on boat

This is something different from usual coffee shops in Saigon. It’s kinda relaxing to watch slow boat traffic while drinking coffee.

759 793/62 Trần Xuân Soạn, Tân Hưng, Quận 7, Hồ Chí Minh

Q2 cafe – My after lunch cafe

This simple humble friendly coffee shop serves nice robuster coffee. You can find me almost everyday.

Số 7 Đường 12, P. Bình An, Quận 2, TP. Hồ Chí Minh

Leave a comment