music · Overland Travel

Pai, Thailand (5th to 7th of November)

From Chiang Mai, I traveled to Pai by mini van. It was cool drive though. Drove through mountains and hills. After two or three hours, I could see a town, not a village. And it’s rather small, but all essentials were there. This was my first time in Pai.

Before leaving New Zealand, I was talking to my friend, Simon. He told me how awesome Pai was. And strongly suggested me to go there. A few months later, while traveling, he mentioned to me he would be in Pai. So we caught up in Pai. How awesome! And I don’t think I could have had the same experience, if there was no Simon.

20151105_170800
Simon and Frank jamming

Well Simon was there a couple days before me. And he organised my accommodation and some stuff to do. We visited many bars and music venues. There were so many small ones!

I spent heaps of time at BeBe Spice, like every night. They have great Indian curries! First night, I tried korma. It was so good that I had a dream about the curry. They kindly invited me to play. And I had a curry every night. And was happy. Especially I hadn’t had any curry for way too long. So anyone wants Indian curry, this is the place!

20151106_193303

I would not say I spent enough time to know about Pai. However I saw/met many musos. It was different type of atmosphere. Everyone enjoyed each other’s music. I guess I could say it was kind of creative mood all round. This made Pai so unique and different from other part of Thailand.

20151106_131816

20151106_172439

DSC02021

DSC02023

Leave a comment